Freezer Cooking Day

Full Freezer!

Last weekend my kids were in Sarasota for a few days with my parents and I decided to make some meals for my freezer.  Everybody has their own way of doing this, I thought I would share what I did this time.  I went to the grocery store to buy my meat and chicken and I found ground beef for $.91 a pound so I bought all they had.  Here is the list of what I ended up making that day:

Taco Meat

Chili

Meatballs

Refried Beans

Onions

Burritos

Italian Meat – Ground beef with onions and garlic

BBQ Beef – Ground Beef mixed with BBQ sauce for BBQ Hamburger Pies

Cubed chicken

Shredded Chicken – for tacos, BBQ chicken sandwiches, and buffalo chicken sandwiches

Oh yeah, here is my kitchen when I started:

Yeah, not the best way to "start"

The first thing I did after I washed some dishes was put 5 lbs of chicken between two crock pots and added chicken broth and Taco Seasoning to one of them and set them on low.  Then I went ahead and put the rest of the chicken in the oven to bake, then cube. I use cooked chicken for chicken pot pie, poppy seed chicken, or on pizza.  I didn’t have the time or energy to fully put those meals together, but having the chicken cooked and chopped makes dinner that night so much easier. For the rest of the afternoon I browned the ground beef for different recipes and chopped my onions.  The refried beans are super easy to make and freeze very well.

Beans, Chicken and Ground Beef All going at the same time!

That recipe makes alot of chili, I just mix it all together then cook in the crockpot on low the day I am ready to serve for dinner.

Ready to load up! I was exhausted but it was worth it!

All in all I made the main ingredients for over 22 meals

One thought on “Freezer Cooking Day

  1. Wow, what a sweet blessing to get all that done before your baby girl arives! It’s just another reminder to me of the grace of God in your life and how you love and care for your family. Love you Tara!

Leave a Reply

