Easy As Pie

Ingredients - just 3!

Ingredients - just 3!

I have been meaning for quite some time to try my hand at making my own laundry soap.  I have heard of quite a few ladies trying it and they can’t say enough good things about it.  While the kids were playing at Nana’s house a few weeks ago I tried it out.  There are quite a few recipes out there and this is the one I ended up trying

http://neufamily.blogspot.com/2009/03/homemade-laundry-soap-fabric.html

I only had enough borax to make 1/2 of the recipe, but it was really easy ~

Shredded soap melts faster

Shredded soap melts faster

I love anything citrus smelling so I found essential oil at Chamberlain’s for $3.89 including tax ~

Energizing ~ this is what my laundry needs!

Energizing ~ this is what my laundry needs!

Even with only 1/2 of the recipe it made over 2 1/2 gallons.  Thankfully I had a super large container that my friend Stephanie gave me. 

Yes, those are the traveling cheese puffs ~ well those were the traveling cheese puffs

Yes, those are the traveling cheese puffs ~ well those were the traveling cheese puffs

This detergent is easy to make, ridiculously inexpensive, and cleans just as well as my regular detergent.  I was pretty careful with how much essential oil I added to the mix so I might add more next time.  You can purchase the washing soda at Publix for between 2-3 dollars.  The borax you can also get from Publix but Super Walmart had it for $2.89. I think it was a little over 3 dollars at Publix. I had saved some other laundry detergent containers which I put some of this in there and just shake it every time I use it.  If you want to try it save you containers and I will make you some! 🙂

Posted in: Fun

One thought on “Easy As Pie

Leave a Reply

