Crayons, Markers, Glue Sticks, and Donuts of Course!

We made Donuts for Dinner!

We made Donuts for Dinner!

I love the first few days of school.  We take our time getting acclimated to a new schedule, new books, and even a new student this year.  Every year I talk about how much I enjoy taking our time getting into the swing of things, so we started a bit earlier this year so we could do just that.  This will be an interesting year with a 3rd grader, K’er, and Joseph.  Joey is wanting to be a part of all the action alot more than I had thought or prepared for.  I do have this cute color coded block schedule for us ~ I am not quite sure if this is a cute color coded year.  Its more of a creative,paitent, be very flexible year with a schedule to reference. 🙂  Its good for me though.  I have been used to a pretty structured and easy flowing day with having just Jacob schooling at home.  This year even though its not exactly how I had envisioned or planed already has made for some wonderful memories and teaching moments. 

I put up a world map in the “blue room” at the kids eye level and they look at it all the time. I think they are trying to teach Joseph where Florida is.  Today Jacob was asking if you would really see Russia from Alaska.  We googled it and found out that yes you can see Russia from Alaska and by golly there is a web cam to prove it.  It was fun just taking a side journey and seeing the Bering Strait and the snow on the mountains across the way.  I love it.  Yesterday we read a story about a missionary family who went to Papa New Guinea, lived with the people there, helped them develop an alphabet so they could translate the Bible into their own language.  Thirty years it took!  Every week we will have a people to pray for and learn their current needs so that we can even pray specifically.  Can you tell I am excited.  The kids have filled out their “passport applications” and will begin our journey out of North America in a few weeks.  🙂  Here are a few pictures from our day…

Reading a letter from Principal Davis

Reading a letter from Principal Davis

Making our "All About Me" Books

Making our "All About Me" Books

"My favorite game is..."

"My favorite game is..."

School is Cool

School is Cool

I think Joey really enjoyed alot of the things I had set aside for him to do during his "school time"

I think Joey really enjoyed alot of the things I had set aside for him to do during his "school time"

2 thoughts on “Crayons, Markers, Glue Sticks, and Donuts of Course!

Leave a Reply

