Here We Go!

It feels more like winter this year in Florida and our yard is showing it.  I wanted to get a head start on the garden this year because of our baby girl coming in Middle of May/Beginning of June.  This year I am keeping it simple, but with the kids help I think we will have a good year.

There are a couple of things I learned from last year Last Years Garden

#1 Squirells are my enemy.  Thankfully this year we have Tori.

#2 I love homemade salsa.  Good thing peppers and tomatoes do well in my yard

#3 Kids love to garden. Hence the Veggie Tale garden kits.  They are growing Cacti this year. 🙂

#4 I can’t spell zucinni zuchinni zucchini for the life of me

So here is my list:

Jalepeno Peppers

Bell Peppers

Basil

Lettuce

Cucumbers

Tomatoes (a couple of different kinds)

Zucchini

Herb plants (Publix or the Farmer’s Market is the best place for these)

Started seeds in little Jiffy Pots

I usually am able to keep this little tray outside but has literally been too cold for that.  So its been on top of my dryer.  I mist it with water once a day and have been putting it in the sunshine when I can.  The cucumbers and zucchini grew so fast I have already had to transplant them into butter tubs!  I really enjoyed looking at last years pictures watching everything grow.  I enjoyed taking a walk through the garden early in the morning checking on everything, I am really looking forward to this year!

2 thoughts on “Here We Go!

  1. kim sargent says:

    Thanks for the pictures on the how to fow BFAW. We planted a garden last fall and my 5 yr old is hooked. What is that veggie tale garden kit you referred to?

Leave a Reply

