Make Me

Maker of Life,

For my husband’s sake, and for the sake of Your great name, make me into an excellent wife.

Because of Your sanctifying work may he consider me as far more precious than jewels.

May his heart trust me, and may he have no lack of gain.

Let me do him good, and not harm, all the days of my life.

Empower me to work for him with willing hands.

Give me vigor to rise while it is yet night and provide food for my household.

Only by Your grace can I dress myself with strength and make my arms strong.

Help me to open my hand to the poor and reach out my hands to the needy.
Let me open my mouth with wisdom, and put the teaching of kindness on my tongue.

May I honor him by looking well to the ways of my household and not eating the bread of idleness.

May I be the kind of wife whose children rise up and call her blessed;

the kind of wife of whom her husband says,

“Many women have done excellently, but by grace you surpass them all!” (Proverbs 31).

From “Prayers of an Excellent Wife” p. 88

Leave a Reply

