dreaming

Story begins HERE

“Come, let us return to the Lord;

for he has torn us, that he may heal us;

he has struck us down & he will bind us up.

After two days he will revive us;

on the third day he will raise us up,

that we may live before him,

let us know; let us press on to know the Lord.”

Hos. 6:3

As I look back and recount all that has happened for the past few years in my life, there are many things that I now “know”. I’ve made alot of mistakes.  At times I’ve made it so much harder for myself.

But God…

He has been faithful to sustain and care for me no matter if the mess that I was in was my fault or not.

I still stand by the name of this blog.

The Lord has blessed me with a husband and children, but that is not what defines me. That isn’t where my identity lies.

I’m first and foremost a daughter of the King, bought with a price.

I am called, loved, kept.  This last season has solidified in my heart the loved and kept part.

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,  even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved.” Eph. 4:5-6

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We made the trip up to North Carolina for Selah’s first Christmas.  I don’t know exactly what it was, but the Lord did something on that trip.

Only He knew that I had always dreamed of a white Christmas. I know its silly, but its true.  Ever since I was a little girl.  We saw some snow a few years ago the day after Christmas, but that was it.

A few days before Christmas it snowed just a tiny bit and I thought. “Well that’s nice. Too bad it’s not on Christmas.”

The afternoon of Christmas Eve we heard that it was going to snow.  It didn’t look like it really would be cold enough. I was excited though of the possibility.

We celebrated Christmas here, there, and everywhere and no snow.  After dinner we opened gifts with family and that is when it started to fall.

I went outside and just stood there. I love the “sound” of snow falling, its just beautiful.

There I was, with my husband and four children, and it was snowing, on Christmas.

Yeah, I still well up with tears just thinking about it.

I had a moment of gratefulness to God, a few pictures, then a huge snowball fight.

The next few days were filled with Carolina snowmen, snow angels, snow cream, snow ball fights, snow forts, and lots of laundry. I had never in my life (that I can remember) seen that much snow, especially in North Carolina.  It was unbelievable! There was so much snow Target and Walmart were closed!

I laughed and giggled and had so much fun.  I was smiling and I couldn’t stop.

It was the best Christmas ever.

Now I know that I will continue walk through trials and I’m not promised happiness tomorrow.

But I’m no longer living only for my happiness.

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Eph. 4:10

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort,  who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” II Corinthians 1:3-4

This isn’t’ the end, I’m still living, learning, loving, repenting, forgiving, pressing forward, hoping, dreaming, praying.

It feels good to dream again.

To my Birthday Girl today,

Selah, mommy just can’t stop thanking God for you.  He used you as an instrument of grace in my life that I will always be grateful for. You taught me about who God is and helped me see that my faith is real.

You are such a joy. God in His providence brought you at at time where that joy would heal and restore so much. I can’t help but smile when I look at you.

You are one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. I love you and I pray that you will love God, that you would press in to know him no matter what happens in your life.  I can’t wait to share with you someday how God changed mine.

Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

