brown boy + nikon = a whole new world

In the fall of 2011 after many doctors and labs and test Joseph was diagnosed with the following:

Oral Motor Weakness
Dysnomia -difficulty retrieving the correct words, names, or numbers from memory
Oral Dyspraxia – reduced ability to voluntarily control single or sequenced silent movements of the lips, tongue or soft palate.
Expressive Language Disorder – difficulties with verbal and written expression
ADHD – self explanatory 🙂
Anomia – type of aphasia characterized by problems recalling words or names of things
Mild case of transient tic disorder

He had quite a rough start, but it wasn’t until he started to be at the age where most kids are talking up the storm that I started to notice.  I could tell you instance after instance where I would have to swallow a huge lump in my throat because of how hard things were at times for him.  But that is not what this post is about.

This post is about some of the fruit of God leading us and helping us in a situation that was confusing with little hope for change.

It’s about if you know Joey now and you look at the list above, you know that he can barely characterized by any of those disorders today.

It’s about finding the beauty in the mess.

I could write quite a few posts on different treatments/diets/medications/smoothies/therapies we’ve tried over the past few years. But that isn’t what this about either. There is already quite a bit of blogspace dedicated to that subject. {Believe me, I have read quite a bit of it!}

The last few times we’ve taken a trip, I have let Joey use my camera to take pictures while we are there.  I’m not sure what it is, but it gets him talking like nothing else.  He is able to stay engaged in what we are doing, he asks lots of questions, then we can look at the pictures together and talk about what we saw.

It’s incredible.  I have no idea where this idea came from, and it’s definitely not a cure all, but it has given this momma lots of good memories and precious conversation with my boy.  It used to be like torture to him to have to recall our day ~ tonight he sat down right next to me to talk to me, answered my questions and then started asking me questions.  I couldn’t believe it.

What a gift from God to remind me of what I have to be grateful for and for that I give Him thanks.

Here is just a taste of what you get when you give a Nikon to a six year old to use for the day at Sea World. Enjoy! {these are the raw images, not cropped or edited one single bit}

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

3 thoughts on “brown boy + nikon = a whole new world

  1. shereesmusings says:

    He has an incredible eye for a 6-year-old. How kind of God to give him something to enjoy so much…and to share with his mom . SO grateful to God for His work in Joey’s life. He is deeply loved.

Leave a Reply

