{Clean Eats} Roasted Red Pepper and Sweet Potato Bisque

10456066_1597002987208117_3052153608705646569_n

So Day 10 has found me a little more chipper than previous days.  I  never thought I could be eating this way and not be miserable. I am completely surprised about how incredible this process has been so far.  Don’t get me wrong it hasn’t always been easy but so far the benefits I am seeing (clear skin, more energy, dropping pounds and inches) totally outweigh (get it? hee, hee, hee) the sacrifice! 11 more days to go!

This recipe below was part of my dinner last night and part of my lunch today.  It is AMAZING! I have never roasted peppers before, but it was so easy I will be making this again!

INGREDIENTS (makes 1 serving)

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 medium sweet potato (or yam), peeled, cubed
  • 1/4 medium red bell pepper ( I ended up using 1/2)
  • 1 tsp. finely grated ginger root
  • 1 1/2 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp. miso paste, mixed with 2 Tbsp. hot water
  • 1 cup vegetable broth (or water)
  • Bragg Liquid Aminos (or himalayan salt, to taste; optional)
  • Herbal seasoning blend (to taste; optional)
DIRECTIONS
Bring water to a boil in a small saucepan over medium heat; add sweet potato; cook for 5-7 minutes. Drain. Set aside. Roast bell pepper on grill or gas stovetop.( I actually roasted mind in the oven on 400 degrees for 20 minutes each side) Turn frequently until skin is evenly charred. Place in medium bowl. Cover with a kitchen towel for 10 minutes. Peel skin under running water. Remove seeds. Chop into 1/2-inch cubes.
Place sweet potato, bell pepper, ginger, oil, miso, and broth in a blender or food processor, in 2 or more batches if necessary; cover with lid and kitchen towel. Blend until smooth. If consistency is too thick, add water. (I did have to add water to mine because it was super thick) Heat soup in a medium saucepan over medium heat; cook, stirring frequently, for 4 to 5 minutes, or until hot. Add Bragg Liquid Aminos and seasoning blend if desired.
Leave a Reply

