Paleo Meal Prep 101

mealprep101

In a perfect world I would spend my Sunday afternoons meal planning, grocery shopping, and prepping for the week. In reality I am learning that I am just too worn out from fun weekends to do all of that in one afternoon.  So this week I planned and shopped on Sunday night ~ made a crockpot meal for Monday night and decided to prep a few meals then.

  I picked up these cute containers off of Amazon HERE (I have never tried them before so I will update after I get some use out of them.) I also found cauliflower crumbles at Super Target that you can STEAM IN THE BAG so my plan was just to make some simple chicken and Spanish cauliflower rice meals. I steamed the cauliflower and then added a few Tablespoons of tomato paste along with southwest seasoning (cumin, paprika, onion, etc.) The chicken I seasoned with salt, pepper and chipotle powder and baked at 350 degrees until cooked through (about 30 minutes)
  I also found a few zucchini in my fridge that I spiralized and sauteed in olive oil and garlic.  Here are a few of the meals I assembled.
  I also made these muffin cups quickly.  I sauteed some veggies (1/4 onion, tomato, 1/3 of the bag of spinach) then placed in the bottom of a muffin pan that had been sprayed with coconut oil. Then I whisked the eggs with salt and pepper and poured over veggies and baked at 350 for about 15 minutes or until set. I wanted to also prep my salads for the week but ran out of time before it was time to help the kids get bathed and put to bed.  I just decided to make them really quick while I was making my lunch the next day.

So many times I get caught up into trying to do a marathon meal prep that I end up doing NOTHING which hurts me more in the long run.  I am learning that done is better than perfect!

For more healthy tips check out my Facebook Page HERE.

Leave a Reply

