The 2017 Word of the Year Is…

 

copy-of-welcome-message1

I actually was able to choose my word of the year for 2017 fairly quickly but was really hesitant to put it on paper because it was so easy! I am a doer. Sometimes well alot of times to a fault. I just see this overarching theme of being present over perfect this year while still being productive and that is where my word of the year comes in!

CULTIVATE:

 

  • :  to prepare or prepare and use for the raising of crops; also :  to loosen or break up the soil about (growing plants)

  • 2 a :  to foster the growth of <cultivate vegetables>

  • b :  culture 2a c :  to improve by labor, care, or study :  refine <cultivate the mind>

  • 3 :  further, encourage <cultivate the arts>

  • 4 :  to seek the society of :  make friends with

 

Gosh I love so much about this definition!!

To foster the growth of (my business)

To improve by labor, care or study (the way I want to care for and focus un-distracted on my children)

To encourage (my husband)

To make friends with (to grow in reaching out in community and not isolate myself)

All of these things were on my vision board for 2017 before my word was chosen.

I love this quote from Brene Brown:

“We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known, and when we honor the spiritual connection that grows from that offering with trust, respect, kindness and affection.”

So that is my mantra this year. To not just DO but to CULTIVATE, little by little, brick by brick. Purposeful in all I do and all I do not do.

copy-of-welcome-message

 

2 thoughts on “The 2017 Word of the Year Is…

Leave a Reply

