A letter to my seven year old.

selahjumping.JPGSelah above all else, I want you to know that you are loved and lovable. You will know this deep down from my words and actions—the lessons on love are in how I treat you on your good days and bad.

We will practice courage in our family by showing up, letting ourselves be seen, and being vulnerable. We will share our stories of struggle and strength. There will always be room in our home for both.

We will teach you compassion by practicing compassion with ourselves first; then with each other.

 

We will honor hard work, hope, and perseverance. Rest and play will be family values, as well as family practices.

Some days you will see me make mistakes and ask for forgiveness and seek restoration.

I want you to know joy, so together we will practice gratitude.

I want you to feel joy, so together we will celebrate.

When uncertainty and scarcity visit, you will be able to draw from the Spirit that is a part of our everyday life.

Together we will cry and face fear and grief. I will want to take away your pain, but instead I will sit with you and not be afraid of when you feel it, trusting their is a greater purpose that I may not understand in the moment.

We will laugh and sing and dance and create. We will always have permission to be ourselves with each other. No matter what, you will always belong here.

I will not teach or love or show you anything perfectly, but I will let you see me, and I will always hold sacred the gift of seeing you. Truly, deeply, seeing you.

I love you baby girl ~ happy birthday!

Love, Mommy

selahmerida.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

